Alpha Phi Sigma: the National Criminal Justice Honors Society

Alpha Sigma Alpha | Arizona State University 


APS Executive Board: Fall 2018 - Spring 2019


Alpha Phi Sigma recognizes academic excellence of Undergraduate and Graduate students of Criminal Justice, as well as Juris Doctorate students.


The goals of Alpha Phi Sigma are to honor and promote academic excellence, community service, educational leadership, and unity.”


About the organization

Alpha Phi Sigma is the nationally recognized honor society for students in the field of criminal justice science. The society recognizes academic excellence by undergraduate and graduate students of criminal justice as well as students in the juris doctorate field. We currently have over 800 members in the ASU branch of Alpha Phi Sigma. We seek to build our organization to best serve our members and bridge opportunities to build our communities.  

Alpha Phi Sigma was established in January of 1942 by Dr. Vivian Anderson Leonard and 17 Police Science majors at Washington State University. On March 24th, 1976 Alpha Phi Sigma was designated as the National Criminal Justice Honor Society. Alpha Phi Sigma was granted membership by the Association of College Honor Societies in 1980. There are now over 360 chapters of Alpha Phi Sigma across the United States.

The mission of Alpha Phi Sigma is to promote analytical thinking, rigorous scholarship, and lifelong learning; to keep abreast of the advances in scientific research; to elevate the ethical standards of the criminal justice professions and to sustain in the public mind the benefit and necessity of education and professional training.

Our goals shall be to honor and promote academic excellence; service; leadership and unity.

For more information, please visit the Alpha Phi Sigma National Honor Society’s Webpage  at: Here you will have access to other resources such as, current announcements at the National level, scholarship and career opportunities, APS merchandise, and information on upcoming events and conferences.

Upcoming Deadlines 

Fall 2019

  • Applications for membership (regular and provisional) for Fall 2019 will be accepted from Monday June 3rd to Friday August 30th. Applications before and after the deadline will not be accepted. New applications will be posted the last week of May. Old forms will not be accepted. *Provisional members will need to email us for the application / requirements
  • We are currently accepting memos of interest for Executive Board positions. Open positions include Secretary, Event Coordinator, and Recruiting Officer (2). 
  • Current members need to submit all voluterteer hours for the Fall 2019 semester no later than Friday December 20th. Late submissions will not be accepted.


Chapter Executive Board Members (Effective Fall 2019)

President: Dez Yarbrough

Vice President: Sandy Moshi

Treasurer: Kanak Patel

Collaborator: Victoria Camarillo-Aguilar

Secretary: TBD

Event Coordinator: TBD

Recruiting Officer: TBD

Chapter Advisor: Dr. Eric Johnson


Upcoming Meetings/Events

Date and TimeEventLocation
August 21, 2019, 6:30pm - 9:00pmPassport to ASUMemorial Union, Student Pavilion, and Sun Devil Fitness Complex at the Tempe Campus
August 26, 2019, 6:30pm - 7:45pmChapter MeetingMemorial Union Building, Tempe Campus, Room TBD
September 6, 2019, 10:00am - 12:00pmArizona Capitol Museum1700 W. Washington St., Phoenix, AZ 85007
September 10, 2019Feed My Starving Children1345 S Alma School Rd, Mesa, AZ 85210

Contact Us


Email address:

Phone: (602) 496-1773

Fax: (602) 496-2366


Criminology and Criminal Justice Undergraduate Desk: (602) 496-2369

Criminology and Criminal Justice Graduate & Ph.D Desk (602) 496-2365


Building Location:

Arizona State University
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice - University Center
411 N. Central Ave. Ste. 600
Phoenix, AZ 85004

Please click here for directions


Shipping Address (i.e. Fedex, UPS):

Criminology & Criminal Justice Department
Attn: Alpha Phi Sigma
411 N. Central Ave. Ste. 600
Mail Code: 4420
Phoenix, AZ 85004


Email/Office Hours:

Sundays & Fridays 8:00am-10:00am AZ Time (A member on the Executive Board will be actively responding to emails and other social media inquiries during the two hour time frame). *All other email inquires will be answered within 24-48 hours. 

Mondays 10:30am-12:30pm AZ Time (A member on the Executive Board will be in our office in the University Center at the Downtown Phoenix Campus. During this time, we will be answering in person questions/concerns, emails, and phone calls. Additional days and times will be provided at a later date).

*Please note that Alpha Phi Sigma, the Arizona State University chapter is 100% run by students and there may be delays in response times during the semester, Summer/Winter breaks, and holidays. Email is the fastest way to contact our organization; please allow 24-48 hours for our organization to respond to your question/inquiry.